Specially Selected All Butter Cognac Laced Mince pies from Aldi

The first mince pie to be reviewed in 2016.

Price £1.29 for 6

The pies contain milk, may contain traces of egg. 240 calories per pie

The pies are well packaged; the red/black/gold box gives a mildly regal feel. The price is very reasonable so would suit most budgets, providing you aren’t paying with free hugs. The pie is topped with a slightly offset snowflake and the top has a smattering of sugar.

When lifted from its foil casing, my pie is seeping from the lower edge. Perhaps my pie fought to get in this package? Perhaps the extreme speed at which the lady at the till scanned my shopping through somehow damaged the pies structure? More than likely.

I was able to bite down on the pie without it collapsing. That’s a huge plus point for me. The filling had a smooth texture and wasn’t dry, or overly wet. The mincemeat was sweeter than I normally like but it certainly wasn’t too much. I enjoy the feeling of a whole raisin in my mouth when eating a mince pie, which I didn’t get from this as it seemed the filing was cooked down too much.

If you have a sweet tooth and like a strong structure, this will leave you very satisfied.

7/10

#philreviewsmincepies


One thought on “Specially Selected All Butter Cognac Laced Mince pies from Aldi

Leave a Reply

