Sainsbury’s 4 Puff Pastry Mince Pies

Parting with £1 gets you four puff pastry mince pies and 20p change.

I would like to mention that I have no affiliation with this supermarket and am not biased. Geographically I am close to a store and MY favourite pies so far have come from here, but I am optimistic that my mind will change as my review continues.

I ate one of these last night at my parents house whilst celebrating bonfire night with some fireworks, a roaring fire and fantastic food.

In a similar view to the iced mince pies, these won’t be for everyone. Many people will have a predisposition to choose shortcrust pastry and not touch anything else. Broaden your horizons. Puff pastry adds a different texture because when you bite into one, you can feel the layers as your incisors search for that prize at the centre. A downside to puff pastry pies is that you will more than likely require a plate, otherwise you’ll need a bib or to be outside.

Puff pastry mince pies have a much lighter texture which makes that sweet deposit of mincemeat all the more enjoyable once you find it. There is ample sugar at the summit so they provide adequate sweetness, without being over the top.

They are delicious and baked fresh, which is a bonus. I don’t feel that these could convert me from shortcrust, but will gladly try another type. If you enjoy quite a lighter bite, these are definitely more than alright. They are a bit too messy for me.

6/10

 


3 thoughts on “Sainsbury’s 4 Puff Pastry Mince Pies

Leave a Reply

