4 Bakery Puff Pastry Mince Pies, by Tesco

Puff pastry pies are my wife’s favourite, so it was no surprise when I learnt she had purchased some today.

They only cost 80p which is a good price in my eyes. Anything these days under a £1 seem to represent good value for money.

The packaging is see through plastic, which is hardly something to describe in great detail. As I mentioned with Sainsbury’s 4 Puff Pastry Mince Pies, some people aren’t that keen on puff pastry pies, but I like them as a lighter feeling alternative.

The pies have a sweet lid, however it looks to have a glazed top which is unusual and I cannot make out any separate grains, or perhaps it was icing sugar that has melted when the pie was warm.

There seems to be a good rise and the layers look nice and even. Biting down on this pie, you can feel the aforementioned layers compressing until your taste buds are excited with fresh tasting, sweet mincemeat. The mincemeat tastes fruity and the pastry sweet.

8.5/10 – the best puff pastry pie I’ve tasted and extremely moreish! I would rate these higher but I still prefer the mincemeat/shortcrust taste combination over puff pastry. You may rate them higher and if you do, let me know.


One thought on “4 Bakery Puff Pastry Mince Pies, by Tesco

Leave a Reply

