Thick Blue Cheese Dip

If I ever crave something meaty, greasy and saucy, I often look no further than the tiny morsels of magic – chicken wings. If I decide I want the afforementioned and I want to go out, more often than not i’ll make a B line to one of my favourite burger restaurants – 7Bone.

Other food estsablishments exist, but I just keep going back there. Wings, dogs or burgers they will see you right.
Back to the wings.

Whether they’re coated in a zesty, spicy red sauce containing cayenne pepper which makes your nose run, your face orange and gets your hands messy or smothered in something deep and smoky such as a sticky barbecue glaze, wings are incredibly versatile and very easy to eat. I’m not a massive fan of really hot wings with chillies, as I feel they can completely mask what you’re eating!
For those of you who dont enjoy eating meat off the bone, I am sorry that this is the case.
To me, when I am eating wings, I need to have something really savoury to accompany them. This comes in the form of Blue cheese dip. The mix of either sweet barbecue or spicy cayenne sauce mixing with strong, creamy blue cheese is hard to beat with any other dip.

I will name the products I use, unlike many videos i’ve watched who claim to have the best Blue cheese dip, yet miss out completely the name of the blue cheeses they are even using! How does that help when you’re trying to follow a recipe? I am also yet to find a ready made blue cheese sauce/ dip that isn’t overpowering with vinegar. My blue cheese dip is thick and decadent… but also incredibly simple. Give it a try!

For my Blue cheese dip, you can use either of the following:

  • 1/3 of A 220g block of Stilton or Shropshire blue or Castello blue to give you a Chunkier dip with a classic rounded flavour
  • 1/3 of A 150g block of St Agur or a pot of their Crème de Saint Agur for a smoother dip but a more intense blue cheese experience

both dips call for cheese at room temperature to aid with the mixing, three heaped tablespoons of full fat mayonnaise, a twist of pepper and that is all. I believe the savoury aspect of this dip really complements a sweet barbecue sauce and definitely takes the zing out of a cayenne pepper sauce (you know the sauce I mean, right?) which is why I don’t use any apple cider vineger or lemon juice.

Montagnolo will provide a creamy, mild cheese dip as will , however you may find yourself using the entire pack. Is that really a bad thing? Possibly.

Once you have incorporated the ingredients with a fork, refridgerate your dip and cook your wings. Your dip should lovely and chilled once your wings are cooked.

Dip away.


Leave a Reply

